What’s up? Chester update, Fly Fishing Stuff and books

So I’ve been holding my breath, trying not to talk about Chester until I was sure he was better. He is. Thanks to Karl One Mule Team and Lauren Brats. These two saved his life and my sanity by squirting painkillers and antibiotics down his gullet, twice a day for the week we were gone for Thanksgiving. He’s up and around, staples out of his belly, and actually getting chubby again.

As for the financial side — don’t fret folks. My parents sent a check (possibly based on that photo in the last post) to help defray the costs. Thanks for the concern everybody.

In other news, I wrote a couple profiles on the fly fishing site that I’m pretty happy with. One is about a bamboo rod-maker in Albany, OR. The other is a profile of a conservationist, salmon fly fishing guru. I’m starting to like this profile-style writing. It doesn’t take a lot of creative input from me; it’s more like channeling or extruding something interesting and fresh from other people. Less draining.

I’m reading Stephen Kings Duma Key, and it’s fantastic. A must-read if you like Stephen King, plus it’s outside of the traditional New England setting. I’m planning to ask for Pine Island Paradox and Gentlemen of the Road for xmas.

Speaking of gifts, we used up our Down To Earth gift certificates today (thanks Amy!) getting ready for bird season. We’ve got a new feeder this year, tons of sunflower seeds, suet and finch feed. Bird Nerdery 09 is on. Juncos are already here flitting around in the backyard.

About mstansberry

Matt Stansberry currently lives in Eugene, Oregon with his wife and son.
This entry was posted in books, Family, Pals and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What’s up? Chester update, Fly Fishing Stuff and books

  1. Tough Gnarl says:

    Yay!!!! I’m so glad the lil man is doing good. Miss ya and love you!

  2. Amy says:

    I am SO glad Chester is okay! I was very worried. I mean, he and I have a special bond, even though it was only one night we spent together :)

    And you someone else a big thank you (unless you have another Amy) – I gave you a gift certificate to Macys (I know, evil corporate world…)

    glad you guys had a great holiday! I would LOVE to see you guys before xmas… I could use a pick me up with all that’s going on up here!

Leave a Reply

