Solo float tube trip is super boring

Last weekend I went float tubing by myself on Gold Lake, chasing brook trout. I fish a lot by myself, and I’ve float tubed a fair bit, but haven’t done the two together — aside from a debacle in New Jersey a few years ago.

Gold Lake

I have to say, float tubing by alone is boring as hell. I go about .5 miles per hour, stuck on a froggy lake with no discernible features, I’m at the mercy of the wind. It really doesn’t work out. With 2-3 people, at least we’ve got more lines in the water to help us figure out a pattern, people to talk to, etc. But out there alone, it’s just me and the osprey.

Gold Lake

An osprey almost took my hand off. Somehow I thought it would be funny to attract the bird with some fishy splashing with my hand on the side of the tube in the water. The bird folded its wings and dive bombed. I screamed and stuffed my hands into my armpits. The bird pulled out of its dive. I have no idea what I’d have done if it hadn’t.

I keep thinking of my hand in that damn birds mouth, toothy like a saw. The bird’s got my digits in its beak. And I’m trying to figure out how to explain this to people. I escaped with my fingers and a lesson. Don’t float tube solo. You get bored and do stupid things.

About mstansberry

Matt Stansberry currently lives in Eugene, Oregon with his wife and son.
This entry was posted in Oregon Cascades, Oregon Fishing. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Solo float tube trip is super boring

  1. Neil Murdock says:

    Thats funny stuff.

  2. Neil Murdock says:

    Thats funny stuff man

Leave a Reply

