Hood River Fruit Loop, Pear Celebration

KP and I rounded the Hood River Fruit Loop last weekend. It was an excuse to see Mt. Hood and to spend money at local farms. I recently finished Jenny Kurzweil’s Fields That Dream: A Journey to the Roots of Our Food and I was feeling farmy (Rating: B-).

Mt. Hood Fruit Loop

A couple of thoughts from the book penetrated my psyche: Farmers need our support, and its hard work. I may have been talked out of goat husbandry. The farmers in the book that raised goats were uneasy about leaving the farm for more than 2 hours at a time. I’m not ready for that kind of comittment yet. But reading just an article about those topics, I may not have been moved to reconsider my future as a livestock herder.

Mt. Hood Fruit Loop

The book is the only way to absorb an idea fully. Poems are pretty good too, but it’s different (I can’t elaborate now). I was talking to Alex about this last week. I go in modes — I used to subscribe to The New Yorker, Harpers, NY Times magazine. I can only remember a handful of articles. But books have a way of penetrating into your psyche.

Mt Hood Fruit Loop

In fact, from now on I think I’ll be reading all of my magazines online. Too much wasted paper. Too little absorbed.

Mt. Hood Forest Products

This week around Hood River it was the Pear Celebration, and the coolest stop was Kiyokawa Family Orchards, which had a big dessert fest. I should have asked whether Kiyokawa is organic or not. They didn’t say anything about it on the Web site, and nothing at the farm. We were rushing, trying to get to all of the farms in one afternoon. We could have spent more time at each one, but still worthwhile.

Mt Hood

Things we picked up: Kiyokawa apples and pears, Draper Girls Cider and orca beans, sweet dumpling squash and an awesome Mexican dinner at Michoacan Sports Bar in Odell, OR.

About mstansberry

Matt Stansberry currently lives in Eugene, Oregon with his wife and son.
This entry was posted in books, Farming. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Hood River Fruit Loop, Pear Celebration

  1. Michael says:

    Nice post and what a way to spend a fall day. I was in Pine Grove 2 days ago shooting a story and came across an Orchard with a new apple variety-at least new to the States-called ‘Sonata.’ It’s a delicious apple.

Leave a Reply

