This Old House: Upstream in Oregon goes domestic

We just bought an old house in Eugene, Oregon (1924), wavy plaster walls, hardwood floors and a nice backyard. We won’t get keys till next month, but it’s pretty much all over except from the screaming. I’m documenting the interior design of the new place in the blog:

New Chairs

Photo of Photo

We have almost no furniture since we moved here in our Honda Civic and live in a furnished house.  So we’re starting from scratch. We busted out the grid paper and we’re trying to lay the place out, buy stuff that’s actually cool and cheap.

Today was our first  foray into the used furniture world of Oregon. We picked up two sweet folding chairs $9 each — they work for office chairs and double for guest chairs at dinner. We also snagged a huge tablecloth for the one piece of furniture I do own (a table). Weird to design your kitchen color scheme on a $4 table cloth, but that’s the plan.

We hit up St. V. d. P. and Salvation Army today. Passed on a beat up old chest for $32 — probably should have bought it. Thrift shopper remorse.

Lots of other ideas, plus more stuff to buy to furnish the place. BTW, this is going to sound really smug and Eugene-ish, but we could probably register for all of this crap for when we get married in August, but I just can’t see buying all sorts of new shit that everyone else has. I want to make the old stuff your aunt threw out look good.

That second photo (of a photo — too meta!) is the slap job wankery I’m passing off as art these days. Spray paint a board white, stick big photo on it, lean against wall for effect.

If you have design tips, pass them on. And I promise to get back to big fish and beer, as soon as I catch something worth writing about or take enough abuse.

About mstansberry

Matt Stansberry currently lives in Eugene, Oregon with his wife and son.
This entry was posted in eugene, Homestead and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to This Old House: Upstream in Oregon goes domestic

  1. Alex says:

    Congratulations!!!

    My favorite places are a mix of old and new, made over and combined in the same way that shows off the idiosyncrasies of the owners and maybe a bit of the region.

    I don’t own the first floor of the turn of the century triple decker I live in here in Cambridge (and given the warp of these floor boards and aged everything, I’m not entirely unhappy about that) but I’ve enjoyed making it my home.

    If that poster says home, rock on.

    Nice use of “wankery.”

    Estate sales, yard sales and flea markets are your friends, natch. Beware fibreboard. Love old hardwood, even beat up.

    My aunt throws out verrrry little, sadly, but what she does even Martha couldn’t decoupage to greatness. Here’s to you two finding the right pieces. I’m not sure how smug the registry comment is. After all, getting a couple “set up” is kind of the point, and there are sure to be linens, kitchen gear and such that you may not want beat up, stained or otherwise marked with the stains of years of loving use.

    Take what you need and leave the rest. 🙂 And then get back on the rivers! The season has come to a crawl here, though there’s a plan underway to go ice fishing for striper on the Mystic.

  2. Karl says:

    Congrats again! No design tips here but I can help with remodelling work, etc. I have lots of sweet contractor grade tools and tons of spare time. The part about the tools is true.

    Shelly’s dad wants to fish on Saturday–I don’t know if her cousin is coming.

  3. Bpaul says:

    Estate sales, that’s what I have to say to you my friend. And I know this guy who calls himself a “recovering electrician” that can at very least answer electrical questions for you if need be.

    I’m finding cheap bookshelves not working out so well. I suspect you have a few books, get real wood, sturdy, old fashioned book shelves when you can get your hands on them.

    It takes longer to buy 2nd hand stuff, but it’s the right thing to do ecologically, and you can create a really eclectic look to your house along the way.

    Oh, and never skimp on the bed.

Leave a Reply

