Fly fishing blog inspires lofty rants on the industry

I’ve been reading fly fishing blogs for a while now, and I’ve been like a kid looking up to some old timey, bacon-y dudes that mostly talk about stuff that’s not fishing. Sometimes it’s drinking Rainier, sometimes it’s weird Americana crap music, somtimes its about how hardass it is to swing flies and not catch fish in shitty weather. It’s a lot like when I was a kid and the older dudes were standing around in driveways not doing much, and they were cool, and I was like, damn I’m not getting laid and they probably are.

 Well, those dudes got together and started a big old fly fishing blog called Buster Wants to Fish. It’s pretty sweet and Underground Tom wrote up a good analysis of what Generation X means to fly fishing marketers with the subhead: BTW they hate your elitist ass.

But nobody asks why… Why is Donnie Beaver public enemy #1 in the blogosphere? Every fly fisher under forty wants to see this guy strung up by his balls, even though most of us will ever fish a stream this guy tries to string a piano wire across. Why does The Drake kill? Why mock the Barry’s?

I’ve got a theory, that goes back to a day I walked into a fly shop in Roscoe, NY with money to spend wearing a sweatshirt and half a beard and was ignored right out of the store by a bunch of tweedy dudes chuckling to each other. Who’s laughing now? What’s biting in Roscoe this month? Yeah…

 This rant brought to you by Track Town Brewery, a Rogue Ales joint. It seemed more cogent earlier.

About mstansberry

Matt Stansberry currently lives in Eugene, Oregon with his wife and son.
This entry was posted in blogs and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Fly fishing blog inspires lofty rants on the industry

  1. Karl says:

    Funny you should write about this now. I had similar thoughts yesterday while perusing the Orvis catalog. What’s the deal? Are these east coast blue-bloods standing around thinking about fishing, how much better they are at it and collecting useless gear. I mean, have these guys ever heard of synthetics like capilene, gore-tex or even polypro? Tweed hats? Knee britches? Give me a stinkin’ break.

    I’ll take a public stream in Oregon, swinging a fly, fishin’ a dry, or (gasp) pullin’ a plug for trout, salmon or steelhead over a private beat in quebec or maine fished by stuffy old guys any day of the week.

    My theory of the basis of the resentment is those guys (yes, I’m generalizing) assume they are better fishers, use more holy techiques and are all around better than us younger fishers all while wondering what the heck is wrong with our generation. Meanwhile, on their watch american coldwater fisheries continued on what is hopefully not a terminal decline.

    BTW, old-timey fishin’ report: ‘No fish caught or observed.”

  2. Pete says:

    I’m amazed at the vitriol out there in the fly fishing world. No other sporting group I know of, in the fishing world especially, seems to enjoy drawing lines in the sand about what the sport is supposed to be and who owns it. I mean when it comes down to it, it’s just fishing.
    I’m an east coast guy, and this is a generalization, too, but most of the guys in the tweed and merino woold and whatnot seem to fish about 10 days a year and do it to live out some patrician fantasy. Seriously, who cares about those guys because how often do you even see them on the water? Most people I come across when fishing are actually pretty cool, whether they’re old or young, white collar or blue.

    I’ve had similar fly shop experiences, though, and dealt with elitists who say only certain anglers “deserve” to fish for bonefish or tarpon or brook trout or whatever. Who cares? They’re idiots. My philosophy about them or anyone who passes judgement on me or the way I fish comes straight from Neil Young: “It doesn’t mean that much to me to mean that much to you.”

  3. Karl says:

    I didn’t know who Donny Beaver was until a few minutes ago.

    Donny Beaver is everything wrong with america in a package that tries to keep people from fishing the people’s water. If he could have done that there than what is to stop it here? Actually, attempts have been made in recent years to resrtict public access in Oregon.

    Check out common waters.

  4. Pete says:

    Just googled Donny Beaver myself. Now there is someone who really is an asshole.

  5. flytimes says:

    “I’m amazed at the vitriol out there in the fly fishing world. No other sporting group I know of, in the fishing world especially, seems to enjoy drawing lines in the sand about what the sport is supposed to be and who owns it. I mean when it comes down to it, it’s just fishing.”

    Take a look at mountaineering and rock climbing, lots of dissent over there over stuff like traditionalism, purism and style.

  6. fishermansparadise says:

    Interesting I must admit…

  7. Pingback: Flyfishing’s Achilles Heel (Ego Deflation via the Beatdown) « SwittersB’s Weblog

Leave a Reply

