A break in the weather in Oregon

The rain finally stopped. Time to fish folks. I’d be out there tomorrow, but I’m under the gun. I’ve got the final chapter of a book to finish amongst other obligations. Maybe Thursday if things open up for Wild Bill…

Spencer's Butte Hike January 08

But fishing is only part of the equation. There’s been a break in the stormy nether-regions of my psyche. I’ve been stewing on my own mortality a lot lately and it’s finally breaking loose and moving on. Maybe it’s the sun slowly withering the swamp that was threatening to swallow the house we just bought here in the West Eugene Wetlands. Maybe it’s the smoothies that we’ve been drinking every morning instead of eating a cheese omlet? Who knows?

But clean living is starting to pay off. I’m off coffee for the first time in years (literally). I couldn’t survive without coffee — killer headaches if I skipped it. Now I’m almost clean. Maybe it’s the TV writer’s strike? Not much on these days. I’m home putting photos online and writing and reading or going to the gym instead.

I have to chock up a significant portion of my well being to David Allen. I found his theory of reducing stress and actually getting things done through a blog I read, and I downloaded the audiobook on iTunes and haven’t looked back. I’m not a big self-help guy, so I’m not going to gush about it here, but if you’re interested in getting past the billion stupid little things that add up in your life to make you crazy and you spend all your time thinking about the crap you have to do instead of doing it, email me and I’ll give you my pitch for this guy’s program, called “Getting Things Done”.

At any rate, I have been getting things done the past couple days, to the point where I managed to write all day today, climb Spencer’s Butte and go to Yoga before dinner. The contrsuction on Spencer’s Butte is going to be really nice when it’s done. See photos:

Spencer's Butte Hike January 08

Spencer's Butte Hike January 08

Spencer's Butte Hike January 08

Spencer's Butte Hike January 08

Spencer's Butte Hike January 08

Spencer's Butte Hike January 08

About mstansberry

Matt Stansberry currently lives in Eugene, Oregon with his wife and son.
This entry was posted in hiking and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A break in the weather in Oregon

  1. Man, you’re like my hero… seriously. I know I’ve said this to you before, but dude, you are livin’ the good life. Everything you just said, is what I want (and need to do) – you NEED to tell me about this guy, this book, this blog – whatever – we’ll talk this weekend!

    And I can’t believe you’re off coffee!!?? I did that… once…
    Not sure why I ever gave the stuff up (hey, we all got our vices, right?)

  2. Karl says:

    Back from TN. Man, that was hard. Anyway, with the lower temps and water, I’d go with lighter leader–maybe floro. b/c you can use heavier floro. than mono. Less spooky flies too–of couse, with hardware the wintwer story is pretty much the same–#5 silver spinner–maybe orange glo-tape on the inside blade. I’ve got both days this weekend.

  3. David says:

    You find Jesus yet?

Leave a Reply

