Lots of bald eagles at Leadbetter State Park, WA

I’m way behind on posting, I’ve got so much stuff to write I don’t know where to start, so I picked this because it was the easiest. Last weekend, KP and I were in Astoria, Oregon and it rocked. On a side trip, we headed up to Washington to Leadbetter State Park and we saw lots of bald eagles. We had to tromp through a freezing eel grass bog — wading with our jeans rolled up to our thighs for a mile each way. I have funny footage from the tromp and I’m threatening to put it on YouTube, but I’m not sure if my relationship would survive it. But while I’m working out those details, check out the shots of the bald eagles. We saw three that day — one of which was eating a gull on the beach.

Eagle

Leadbetter Point Washington

Leadbetter Point Washington

Leadbetter Point Washington

I took over 500 shots, kept about 180, and posted about half of those. So needless to say I’ve got a lot of material. That’s the problem with blogging I guess, not enough time to get to do all the cool stuff before it’s out of your head and spontenaeity is gone.

Enjoy the raptors.

About mstansberry

Matt Stansberry currently lives in Eugene, Oregon with his wife and son.
This entry was posted in hiking, photos, predators and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Lots of bald eagles at Leadbetter State Park, WA

  1. Bpaul says:

    What’d he get there, a gull? That’s awesome.

  2. sierratrout says:

    Did you see the eagle actually capture the gull?

  3. Tough Gnarl says:

    For some reason they look like people from Connecticut…just saying. Those are radtastic.

  4. Pingback: Leadbetter State Park hike « Upstream in Oregon

Leave a Reply

