Unimpressed with Steve Novick and his beer

Last weekend I attended a fund raiser for Democratic U.S. Senate hopeful Steve Novick in Eugene. I saw an article in the Register-Guard saying that Novick is pro-beer, and I thought finally, a candidate I can support. I’d actually planned to show up at the event, ask Steve a few questions on conservation issues I care about, maybe volunteer to help out with the campaign, buy a bunch of fundraiser junk, and blog on the event, pumping up Novick as the sure successor to Gordon Smith.

Steve Novick Campaign

Unfortunately, it didn’t work out that way. I patiently waited to talk to Novick, and finally got to meet him. “Hi Mr. Novick, my name is Matt Stansberry and I’d like to pick your brain on some conservation issues,” I said. And he replied by mumbling something about not being able to look into policy issues until after 10 o’clock at night because he’s so busy (whatever that means) and that this event was about fund raising, not getting into policy. I could look at his Website for more info.

Thanks Steve! Um… you can look at my site too.

Probably even worse than being blown off, the beer wasn’t great. Local Eugene brewer superstar Ninkasi was commissioned to make a beer for the campaign “Left Hook Lager”. It tastes a little like Coors Light. I could be overly harsh because I like their other beers so much.

Nonetheless, Novick thinks he can beat Gordon Smith — and putting pressure on Smith would be a good thing in my opinion. Also, I probably would agree with Novick on most of his positions. Take this money quote: “I’ve spent the last eight years suing polluters. Smith has spent the past eight years voting for them.”

 I wanted to know about four things: What is Novick’s position on the Lower Snake River Dams? What is his position on the Western Oregon Plan Revision? What is his position on Oregon Widlerness designations? And what is his take on global warming legislation? I’ll probably find out at some point, but I’d have liked to have heard it from him.

Now instead of volunteering for his campaign, I’m writing snarky blog posts.

About mstansberry

Matt Stansberry currently lives in Eugene, Oregon with his wife and son.
This entry was posted in Conservation, eugene, Events, Oregon, politics, WOPR and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Unimpressed with Steve Novick and his beer

  1. Sounds like Novick has yet to learn the art of dissembling for political gain.

    A polished guy would have looked you in the eye and said, “Convservation is something I care deeply about” while at the same time giving the secret signal to an aide to come over and rescue him before he could elaborate.

  2. Guy says:

    Obviously it was money that he cares deeply about.

  3. nic says:

    Nice Matt, if only Steve knew the power you wield at your finger tips. I also would like to know where he stands on some of the fish issues. I do know that he is right on regarding global warming legislation, but that is from reading his site, not from hearing him talk about. I wonder if he fishes? Maybe tuna fishing…his hook would make a sweet gaff!

  4. PK says:

    While I am no where near Oregon (Michigan), I did get a kick out of your experience trying to discuss conservation with a politician. It reminds me of that headache or medicine commercial, but it would go something like this “I’m not a conservationist, but I play one on TV”. Loved the blog. Nice work, and I think we can all think of politicians who fit this mold.
    PK

  5. Stephanie V says:

    I’m pretty sure that what Steve meant was that he seldom has any downtime to devote to thinking about, or researching and answering, new questions until quite late in the evening. He’s got to balance the (legitimate) demands of campaigning with the (legitimate) demands of people he meets — like you — who want answers to questions he may not have been asked before. I am a friend of his and I know that if I can ever expect an email or a call from him it will originate in the late evening after all the demands of the day are over.

    I’m sorry you weren’t fully satisfied but I’d just ask that you not give up on the guy — he’s a great candidate and would be an amazing Senator.

  6. plreber says:

    Hi Matt,

    Thanks for linking to our blog (watershed council & cascadia) & I am shocked to hear about how bad that Ninkasi beer was! Ever since I stopped bartending, I can’t really drink beer–but the naivete & green-attitudes of our Democratic candidates is disheartening to say the least.

    Great fish photos!

    Pam
    coastfork at willamette dot net

Leave a Reply

