Winter steelhead, blogging in full swing

After months of half-assing it on Oregon Fly Fishing Blog I’ve been thrown back into the mix. Chris D. who now basically runs it with my minimal input, took a month to go fishing in New Zealand and left it in my care. So instead of using the fly tying videos he left me, I’ve been writing like crazy about conservation issues, and my winter steelhead neuroses.

Winter Steelhead Fishing

Part of my reason for writing is that I’ve actually gotten a couple opportunities to go fishing lately. Part of it is that I feel the end approaching. Moving in the late summer back to Ohio. I might as well have fun with this thing I built while I still can. I don’t see a huge market for an Ohio Fly Fishing Blog in my future.

One post is a ramble about fishing by myself.

The other, is about fishing with friends. It was pretty funny, when I sent the draft of this second post to Rob, he said “Nice writing, but you don’t sound excited.”

Getting lost in the Coast Range is exciting. But it’s not something I want to do every weekend. Fishing with Rob and Mariusz? Definitely something I could do every weekend.

Winter Steelhead Fishing

It was also fun to experience winter steelhead fishing with two great anglers because it validated some things I’d always assumed, but hadn’t ever articulated about this pursuit that I spend a lot of time thinking about.

Fish could be anywhere in high water. They won’t all bite swung flies. If you move slow and let the gear boats chase each other downriver, you get opportunities to catch warier fish. The fish are where you think they should be. You need to be patient if you want to see them.

These things all sound like generalized platitudes. And they are. But when you have the experience of watching these things unfold, the meaning conveys more than the words I can type. I don’t really care that much about becoming a better angler. But it’s interesting when it seems to happen anyway.

About mstansberry

Matt Stansberry currently lives in Eugene, Oregon with his wife and son.
This entry was posted in Fishing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

